Conover, NC – The Catawba County Firefighter Memorial Service will be held at 3:00 p.m. on Sunday, October 10, 2021 at Joy Baptist Church located at Catawba County Firefighters4015 Herman Sipe Road in Conover. Weather permitting, the service will conclude at the Memorial Site next door at the Catawba County Firefighter’s Museum. This is the 21st annual service. During this year’s event firefighters will recognize twenty-one (21) members that we will be paying tribute to on this special afternoon.

“This service has a special meaning for all who attend, but especially for the family of the deceased fire service members that we honor and remember. These men and women have given years of their lives to our county’s fire service, and it is only proper that we give their families an hour of our time in remembrance of them.” states Memorial Coordinator David Pruitt.

For more information, contact David Pruitt, Catawba County Firefighter Memorial Committee at 828-302-4300 or email [email protected].

Members to be honored on Sunday, October 10:
David Willis/Arndt • Catawba Fire Department
Dennis Wayne/Dixon • Propst Fire Department
Frederick “Rick” Futrelle • Fairbrook Fire Department
Dwight Dean Gladden • Propst Fire Department
Michael Arnold Heavner • St Stephens Fire Department
Thomas G. “Tommy” Lambert • Claremont Fire Department
Steve Allen/Marlow • Newton Fire Department
Bobby Junior Matthews • Catawba Fire Department
Mary Greenhill Matthews • Cooksville Fire Department Auxiliary
Ricardo “Rick” Navarrete • Startown Fire Department
Glenn E. Oyler • Hickory Fire Department
Earnest “Holsum” Parker • Maiden Fire Department
Larry Bruce Reese • Long View Fire Department Chaplin
Charles “Bo” Scott • Bandys Fire Department
Larry Dean Self • Newton Fire Department
Kenneth Michael “Mike” Trouille • Bandys Fire Department
Norris Nelson Turner • Conover Fire Department
Stephen Andrew Walker • Hickory Fire Department
Luther C. Whitener • Mountain View Fire Department
Clifford Reece Wilson • Maiden Fire Department
David A. Yount • Newton Fire Department & Catawba County Emergency Services/Fire Marshal