Hickory – Guest director Rick Seay has just announced the cast for the Hickory Community Theatre’s upcoming production of Newsies!, opening on November 22 in the Jeffers Theatre. Based on the real-life Newsboy Strike of 1899, this new Disney musical tells the story of Jack Kelly, a rebellious newsboy who dreams of a life as an artist away from the big city. After publishing giant Joseph Pulitzer raises newspaper prices at the newsboys’ expense, Kelly and his fellow newsies take action.

Corey Knighton, fresh from his star turn as Claude in Hair, is playing Jack Kelly. Reporter Katherine Plummer is played by Mikeala Skelton. Jared Wachsmuth and Grant Sizemore play brothers Davey and Les Jacobs, the newest newsboys. In supporting roles are Mason Burr as Crutchie, Iris DeWitt as Medda Larkin, Watts Rogers as Spot and Chad Schuermeyer as Pulitzer.

Ensemble performers playing multiple roles are Sonya Briggs, Cameron Carroll, Raylen Christian, Tiffany Christian, Alissa Corey, Charlotte Dick, Denise Erby, Jordan Erby, Scott Hudson, Toré Ledford, Sal Loza, Danica Marr, Mary Melnyk, Bryon Phillips, David Sandoval, Emily Stober, Jaid Tilyer and Hayden Waugh.

Performances of Newsies! are Fridays and Saturdays Nov 22, 23, 29, 30, Dec 6 and 7 at 8:00pm Sundays Nov 24, Dec 1 and 8 at 2:30pm and Thursday Dec 5 at 7:30pm.

Tickets for Friday, Saturday and Sunday are $20 for adults, $18 for seniors and $10 for students and youth 18 & under. Thursday night tickets are $16 for all adults and $10 for students and youth 18 & under. Call the box office at 828-328-2283 or visit hickorytheatre.org to purchase tickets or get more information.

The Hickory Community Theatre is a funded affiliate of the United Arts Council of Catawba County. Newsies! is produced by Cargo Transporters, Catawba Valley Health System and Hickory Allergy, Asthma and Sinus. A Cleaner World, Paramount Automotive, the City of Hickory and Sunbelt Xpress are the sponsors the 2019-2020 Season.

PHOTO: The cast of Newsies! includes (Kneeling – Corey Knighton, David Sandoval, Jared Wachsmuth, Byron Phillips and Mason Burr; 2nd row – Mikeala Skelton, Mary Melnyk, Emily Stober, Watts Rogers, Grant Sizemore and Jaid Tilyer; 3rd row – Tore Ledford, Raylen Christian, Tiffany Christian, Chad Schuermeyer, Charlotte Dick, Iris DeWitt, Scott Hudson, Danica Marr, Denise Erby, Jordan Erby and Sonya Briggs), not pictured are Hayden Waugh, Sal Loza, Alissa Corey, Cameron Carroll. Photo by John Koval.