HDDAHickory – The General Membership of Hickory Downtown Development Association (HDDA) recognized retiring members and elected new members and officers of the board of directors during a recent meeting.

Completing two consecutive three-year terms on the HDDA Board of Directors (2012-2017), Margaret H. Jackson (Jackson Creative) served as the President of the Board in 2014.  Susannah Brown (Anthony & Brown) and Josh Walker (Transportation Insight & The Natural Olive) served three-year terms from 2015 until 2017.

The HDDA General Membership thanked 2017 President Gavin Mitchell (Boyd & Hassell Industrial Commercial Properties) for his contributions to the organization. Mitchell will continue to serve on the executive committee as immediate past president.

Mary-Margaret Baker (Jackson Creative), Tim Cline (The Bisanar Company), Katye Fredieu (Artisan Soapery), Zackary Harkins (Hatch Sandwich Bar), and Gavin Mitchell (Boyd & Hassell Industrial Commercial Properties) were elected to the Board of Directors to serve three-year terms from 2018 through 2020.

Ernest K. Sills (CBSA Architects) was elected as 2018 President of the Board of Directors.  Julie Owens (Taste Full Beans) was named president-elect. Tammy Panther (Focus) was elected to serve as secretary-treasurer.

Members of the board of directors fulfilling their three-year terms are:  Rex Benfield (Prodigy Voice & Data), Betty Mahoney (BAM Crafts), Julie Owens (Taste Full Beans), Tammy Panther (Focus), Ernest K. Sills (CBSA Architects), Emily Westmoreland (Broome Associated Insurance), and Jason Yates (Olde Hickory Brewery and Tap Room).

HDDA administers the N.C. Main Street program for the City of Hickory.  The purpose of Main Street is to stimulate economic development within the context of historic preservation.  HDDA has been a nationally accredited Main Street program for ten consecutive years.

For more information about downtown Hickory and HDDA, visit www.downtownhickory.com.